Plunging In

Hey! I didn’t really want to be the first to post work up here, but I got so excited that I couldn’t help myself.

First, I’ve been working on this circular comic for about a year now and I finally got the pencils done for some of it. Neal inspired me to add little tangents and I gave that a try, so go check it out over here.

Next is a comic that I originally was going to do as a print accordion comic like my “mouse cheese cat” book.

I haven’t even finished mapping out the whole thing yet, but here’s the roughs for the print version below:

misunderstood minotaur rough draft

misunderstood minotaur rough draft

And here’s a link to a little bit of what I did with IC Viewer. . . Very very rough. . . eventually all the paths will loop back to some other place and poor Theseus will be perpetually lost in the maze.

6 responses to “Plunging In

  1. Dang it, I’m gonna have to come up with something like IC for PC – it’s really smooth and works well with static images

  2. Dig the tangent on the palm tree piece, and love the minotaur!

    It’s great to see someone else working with IC, one of the future articles that I hope to work on here will be a plea for an updated version of that app (or an entirely new one)!

  3. I was just thinking of how IC would be great for a labyrinth-comic – started brainstorming ideas – and here you are already doing one. That’s great! Good to get the ball rolling here too.

    So we post WIP here and the finished work at our own site?

  4. Ha Tym! I beat you to it. Actually, when I found the instructions for making this book, it was called a “maze” book and that got me thinking. . .

    “So we post WIP here and the finished work at our own site?”

    Yeah I was wondering how all this was going to work, too.

    Are we going to have private posts for the artists and public posts for . . . well. . . the public?

  5. We can do it however you guys would prefer. I’d be happy to make space here if you wanted, or we can link to your sites with new work.

    We could also put forth a group idea that we make for this site, kind of a large jam thing that we can publish here.

  6. I’m gonna run out of room soon, so it would be great to have it here.

    Come to think of it, there’s a better way to organize my stuff over on my site, so that I don’t have several copies of the ICviewer on the server. I’ll have to redo some link, then.

    Anyway. . . thinking out loud.

Leave a Reply

